Ysgol Llanddulas

Curriculum for Wales

Our pupils follow the Welsh Curriculum.

This is a flexible, skills-based approach to learning which aims to develop the potential of every child and equip them for life in the 21st Century and which, at the same time, has a clear Welsh dimension.

What this means is that we try and provide for the individual needs of all our pupils and offer them a wide range of experiences to develop their thinking, communication, ICT and number skills.

Pupils are taught within a 3-part structure – Foundation Phase, Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 – and our teachers work together to ensure that all pupils progress as they get older.

We can be flexible in our approach to teaching. During Key Stage 1, whilst pupils still do English, Maths and Science they are often learning by following a theme that includes elements of each of these subjects. Lessons are more structured during Key Stage 2, with topic-led learning. In addition, you will hear about the ‘hands-on’ activities, often outdoors, that allow pupils to learn though doing.

We also ensure that pupils experience a Welsh dimension to learning to reflect the language, culture and heritage of Wales. This gives pupils a sense of belonging, as well as making them aware of issues affecting our country.

There are 3 ‘core’ subjects – English, Maths and Science – and 9 foundation subjects – Welsh (second language), History, Geography, Art, Design and Technology, Religious Education, Physical Education, ICT and Music.

We continually assess and track the progress of all of our children and record it using a computerised system. Pupils are formally assessed at the end of Key Stage 1 (Year 2) and the end of Key Stage 2 (Year 6). These results are published each year and the Key Stage 2 results are shared with pupils’ secondary schools.

This Welsh Assembly document provides more information about ‘How your child is doing at Primary School’.

Curriculum For Wales

The Welsh Government is introducing a new curriculum to reflect the change world of the 21st Century, and the new challenges that will need new technology and new ideas.  The Welsh Government wants children to have the knowledge, skills and experiences they will need to succeed – so the curriculum in all schools is changing.

Curriculum will not just about what children learn, it will also be about how they learn and the reasons why they learn. The Curriculum for Wales highlights the four purposes, which we are working to develop our children as:

  • Ambitious, capable learners, ready to learn throughout their lives
  • Enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • Ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • Healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society

The new curriculum will be about helping children connect their learning.  As well as learning literacy, numeracy and digital skills, there will be six areas of learning and experience – everything children learn will connect to these areas:

  1. Expressive Arts
  2. Health and Well-being
  3. Humanities
  4. Language, Literacy and communication
  5. Mathematics and Numeracy
  6. Science and Technology

The curriculum in school will also develop to cover:

  • Human rights and the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child
  • diversity and respecting differences
  • experiences and skills for careers and the workplace
  • local, national and international aspects of all learning.
  • School will also teach you about relationships and sexuality education too.

Below is a link for children and families to the exciting new developments in the curriculum: